91 Payson Avenue: An Art Deco Masterpiece

91 Payson thumb

In 1935 a new apartment house opened on 91 Payson Avenue in the Inwood section of Manhattan. The stunning apartment building, named “Payson House,” cost  $250,000 to erect. Today, the co-op building, across the street from Inwood Hill Park, is one of the finest examples of art deco design in northern Manhattan. Stepping into the […]

Read the full article →

The Greening of Inwood: The Children’s Garden of P.S. 52

Inwood farming

Inwood boomed with the thump of heavy equipment at the dawn of 1905.  The newly arrived elevated subway had ushered in unprecedented development. Apartment houses were erected at a dizzying pace. The chaotic environment grated one’s nerves. Early residents, lured  uptown with hollow promises of “Country Quiet and Pure Air,” found themselves living amid a […]

Read the full article →

Inwood’s 215th Street Incinerator Smokestacks

Inwood Department of Sanitation on 215th Street

“When the Mayor of New York dedicated the new incinerator at 215th Street and Ninth Avenue a little while ago, he said plainly that he didn’t like it. Perhaps he was justified in his opinion of it as a piece of sanitary engineering, but when he went on to say that it looked ungainly and […]

Read the full article →

Happy Holidays Inwood

Prohibition cartoon

Happy Holidays Inwood! And what would the season be without a few memories of yesteryear? The accompanying photos were taken on Broadway near Academy Street in December of 1925. The city was entering its fifth year of Prohibition and the Great Depression was just around the corner. Sure the times were a bit different, but […]

Read the full article →

Happy 150th Birthday “Inwood”

tubby hook

Down there, on old Manhattan, Where land-sharks breed and fatten, They wiped out Tubby Hook. That famous promontory, Renowned in song and story, Which time nor tempest shook, Whose name for aye had been good, Stands newly christened “Inwood,” And branded with the shame Of some old rogue who passes By dint of aliases, Afraid […]

Read the full article →

Inwood’s Hurst House: Then and Now

William H. Hurst

In 1912 an Irish architect named James O’Connor constructed a beautiful brick home on Park Terrace East and 215th Street. While O’Connor would later go on to design “Great Gatsby” style playhouse homes for wealthy clients, this particular design had children in mind. Lots of children. William H. Hurst, the President of the New York […]

Read the full article →

History of Inwood’s Isham Park

Isham Park, Inwood, New York City

In 1862 a businessman named William Bradley Isham rented a summer retreat in northern Manhattan. He fell in love with the place and returned two years later to purchase the property. What follows is an exhaustive photo essay describing the origins of Isham Park.

Read the full article →

Inwood Hill Park: Historical Timeline

Thumbnail image for Inwood Hill Park: Historical Timeline

Inwood Hill is a 196-acre park located on the northern tip of Manhattan.  The words “wild” and “untamed” are often used to describe the meandering trails, caves, cliffs and otherworldly geological formations that together make Inwood Hill so unique. The history of Inwood Hill, like that of the surrounding city, is fascinating and can be […]

Read the full article →